Soups of the Mid-Atlantic group.

Near Lake Erie, NW, PA(Zone 5a)

The nights are getting cooler, there is a hint of fall in the air. Nothing warms the spirits like a hearth bowl of home made soup, that has been simmering on the stove. Time to share everyone!!!

This is one of my favorites, a few years I bought a pie pumpkin just to try this soup, the seeds naturally went into the compost pile and I have been harvesting this pumpkin for several years from seeds that have made it to the compost pile and grew the next spring, this year was a crop failure so, I have to buy another pumpkin.
Well, here is the recipe.

Hearty Pumpkin Chowder

2 tablespoons butter
1 cup onion, diced
1 cup celery, chopped
4 cups pumpkin, peeled and cut in 1 inch chunks or (butternut squash), prepared the same way
2 tablespoons peeled fresh ginger
2 tablespoons chopped garlic
3 cups chicken broth
1 cup diced peeled potato
1 1/2 cups lima beans, frozen
1 cup corn kernel
1 small red bell pepper, diced
1 cup ham, chunks bite sized
4 cups milk
1/2 cup flour
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

Directions:
Sauté onion, celery, pumpkin, ginger and garlic in butter 5 minutes over medium heat.
Stir in broth, potatoes, lima beans, corn and bell pepper.
Boil then cover and simmer 15 minutes.
Add ham.
Whisk milk, flour, salt and nutmeg in a medium bowl.
Stir milk mixture into pot and bring to boil.
Stir a few minutes until thickened.

Enjoy!

Shenandoah Valley, VA

This is a very simple, very quick soup that my mother used to make for lunch a lot. A friend who spent a lot of time in France told me it's something she also saw in French households in the countryside.

Peel and slice four or five potatoes (You can also use canned, sliced potatoes. Don't drain the liquid and just adjust the amount of water you add.)