winter vegetable garden

(Judi)Portland, OR

What is everyone planting now for harvesting through the fall and winter? I am new to gardening and need ideas. Zone 8 Portland Oregon. Thanks!
Judi

Moss Point, MS(Zone 8b)

I have cukes, zukes and yellow squash planted a week ago. I have seedlings sprouted in pots last week of onions, scallions, leeks, cabbage, broccoli and cilantro. Today I'm planting snap beans, lettuce, radishes, carrots and beets. Most of this will grow through the winter here and I'll start some more to stretch them out.

I paid $.55 for one medium onion at the grocery store Friday and I'm outraged. In the past I've enjoyed a fall garden but this year it's more than fun and games.

(Judi)Portland, OR

Thank you - you have given me some ideas. It sounds like you have a large garden and mine is quite small so I have to choose what to plant. Radishes and lettuce for sure.
You are right about a garden being more than fun and games now days. A lot of people here in Portland have turned even their front yards into vegetable gardens and are feeding their families form these plots. Community gardens are also popular here. I find it very satisfying to go out to the garden, pick some things, and come into the kitchen and make a meal out of what I have grown. I live alone so that is pretty easy to do! I almost wish I could raise chickens but I wouldn't be able to kill them.

Moss Point, MS(Zone 8b)

http://davesgarden.com/community/forums/f/gogreen/all/

Portland1, you would enjoy the sustainable forum. You would be a welcome addition since all those things you mentioned are often discussed there.

I have plenty of space but can't use it because I'm handicapped. I've learned that I can grow almost everything in pots but I sure do miss my corn on the cob.

I had fun one season with my Mom's garden in zone 7 virginia.

I had friend with a commercial chicken house. I unthinkingly got them to deliver a pickup load of poo. Golly, and whew!