This is a great forum!

Upstate, NY(Zone 5a)

I have been watching this forum for about 3 days now and I have learned a bunch!! Didn't know that when you divide iris's it effects their bloom the following year, Didn't know that it can be beneficial to cut back the foliage right after blooming (but I do love the foliage!!).

Question, did I interpret this correctly. If you get spots on the fans and they are still blooming it is okay to cut the leaves (?) back and it won't affect the flowers?

Debby

I am new to iris's but love the beauty of the bloom and the beautiful fans of leaves!! I divided my old fashioned iris's and put in new ones. Took the ones I divided and made a new bed with them. I hope they bloom next year. Do they do better in full sun or part shade? Thanks in advance for any/all help.

Robertsville, MO(Zone 5b)

Okay, here's iris 101. LOLO