Anyone know anything about snakes?

Evans, GA(Zone 7b)

Sorry I couldn't get a picture of the head but this snake was by the hose today - black, slim about 18 inches long. Love to know what it is.

Thumbnail by Artgal
Bluffton, SC(Zone 9a)

I'm usually to busy running the other way to get good ID's. I will say that isn't a deadly one. I have my copperheads, cotton mouths and rattlers down at this point. Coral snakes too just incase I run into one. It's not one of those.

Cleveland,GA/Atlanta, GA(Zone 7b)

I love snakes though I'm not an expert at all. Without seeing the head, I cannot ID for sure. My best guess is it's a black racer (good snake). The photo is too slender for a rat snake which is so common here. Racers are active during the day. Racers will bite if cornered, but are non-venomous and otherwise help tend your garden.

Here I am freeing a corn snake that was caught in some deer fence I put up to keep the dogs out of the garden. I was terrified, but did not want it to die. These snakes are commonly mistaken for copperheads and killed, though they are good snakes. Please learn to tell the difference between bullnose snakes and vipers. We only have a few viperous snakes in Georgia.
Laurel

Thumbnail by MaypopLaurel
Evans, GA(Zone 7b)

I didn't think that this was a dangerous snake as he/she was very slender but there is always a concern when you have a dog about. I don't have a big fear of snakes but I hope they agree to my pact - I'll keep my distance if they'll keep theirs.