heating/cooling greenhouse

Saint Louis, MO

I just got a solar greenhouse in late spring. We are in the process of getting water and electricity to it and before we made some final plants, I thought I would see if anyone is using a heating/cooling unit that they like. I don't want to spend a lot of $$ but so far in late spring the temperatures got to 30 degrees in the greenhouse and in the summer it's really hot - 120 degrees. The 30 degree temps didn't do any harm. I'm still learning how low I can go. I had moved my tropicals in the greenhouse and we got down to around 28 degrees. I didn't have any thermal mass in the gh at that point, but I guess because there were no cold winds and there was not frost I got by. Anyway, in zone 6 a I'll get pretty cold in the winter, and I want to use the gh in the summer. The gh has vents and a window and door. I just need something to push the air around. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks

Danville, IL(Zone 5b)

it really depends on the CFM (cubic feet per minute) requirements you need for your greenhouse. that depends on the size of your greenhouse and the amount of air movement you want. our site has a technical page at http://www.igcusa.com/Technical/fan-shutter-sizing.html that includes a formula for sizing an exhaust fan as well as other information. If your just looking for air movement, you may also want to consider HAF fans. these are circulation fans that help to stabilize temperature within the greenhouse. these fans are much smaller however, and don't move much air compared to the exhaust fans.

Fulton, MO

I'm near you. I heat with propane, 2 units. Cooling is multidimensional, exhaust, intakes, shade cloth, mist, sometimes fogger.

What size is your house?

Evergreen, CO

I installed eight 55gallon metal drums along the north side of my GH. It raised my nightime temps by ten degrees. Of course with tropicals you will need to install some type of heater. Here's a link to thread. Good luck!