steep yard

Crozet, VA

This is a picture of my steep front yard. John plans to terrace it all at some point. He has done two rows of plants on the botton and the top is where he is doing the rock work for the walk way.

Just wanted to show you all what I have been talking about for two years.

Ruby

Thumbnail by rubyw
Crozet, VA

Another from a different vantage point. Can you imagine leaving home and returning in an ice storm? ha-ha

Thumbnail by rubyw
somewhere, PA

Ruby,

We love on a very sloped property. In the winter, I couldn't get down
the hill sometimes and would take off my shoes. My DH put in stone
steps and a "bridge" to get to the deck. Heaven sent.

Thumbnail by Tammy
Crozet, VA

Wonderful Tammy. I am not sure what John will end up doing so that I can navigate around once the plants are in. I really love your picture. Lots of rock that make everything look so lovely.

Thanks for sharing. I might refer to it when John get ready to terrace the yard.

Ruby

somewhere, PA

thank you.

Anne Arundel,, MD(Zone 7b)

There are times when I envy people with some slope to the land, unlike my totally flat lot.

Lexington, VA(Zone 6a)

Lovely photos ruby and Tammy :) Our property is sloped as well but it levels off some at the back of the house before sloping again to the field. That's one reason I gave up on having a vegetable garden - it had to be planted near the field to get enough sun and by the time I came back up the hill with the few vegetables I was able to collect I was huffing and puffing! LOL I'll have to see if I can find any pictures to show you the slope. It's hard to see it now with all the trees we've planted!

somewhere, PA

We have stone walls, steep slopes and a spring. That means no mowing with
a tractor. I spend 3-4hrs a week pushing a mower. I love the hills but it does mean
more work.

Crozet, VA