CULINARY HERBS

POTTSBORO, TX(Zone 7b)

I have what most would call a "culinary herb/spice obsession" for many years. I currently have 72 varieties growing in the Dothan Area Botanical Gardens (zone 8b) but and would like to start a thread with like minded individuals. I have limited experience of many of the culinary herbs and would love to pick your brains. Any interest? I also will be glad to share my limited knowledge in return. I am a certified expert on sending many herbs to the death chamber so maybe I can give some useful advise of what not to do :) I just, this year managed to kill over $600 worth of ordered culinary herbs. First advice--do not even think about disturbing the roots of a vanilla plant.
Photo is of my new culinary beds and shade Pergola that I built this spring.
Cheers

Thumbnail by VORTREKER
POTTSBORO, TX(Zone 7b)

I'll try to send picture again

Thumbnail by VORTREKER
Middleburgh, NY

What a beautiful photo! I have over 300 varieties of all sorts of herbs - culinary, medicinal, craft, etc. My zone (5) is very different than yours and I have to grow my vanilla in a pot. However, I have had gardens in England, the Mojave Desert, the Great Plains and NY state/Canadian border. I live in the northern Catskills of NY state now. What culinary herbs are you thinking of planting? Some that I have include:
thymes - about 40
French tarragon
chervil
parsley
oregano - a few varieties
dill
fennel
rosemary
sweet cicely
chives - 6 varieties or so
sage - 6 varieties or so of salvia officinalis
cilantro
marjoram
lavender
sweet woodruff
black pepper vine
stevia
pineapple sage
scented geraniums
mints - spearmint, peppermint, chocolate mint, lavender mint
roses
nettle
calendula
lovage
horseradish
garlic
elderberry
ginger
turmeric
cardamom
galangal
chickweed

Then, if you start getting into beverage herbs, I have tons more of those types of herbs

Deep East Texas, TX(Zone 8a)