Which pruner is best?

Rome, GA

Which hand pruner is best to use as an all-purpose pruner in the garden? Anyone have any favorites?

Paris, IL(Zone 6a)

I've been told, or read somewhere, a by-pass pruner is better because it causes less damage to the plant than an anvil pruner; a nice quick snip opposed to mashing the bottom side while the blade goes through the branch/stem. I have no idea which brand is "best" but Fiskars is a reputable name. Craftsman (Sears) is a good choice for their lifetime warranty.

Gary

Dover AFB, DE(Zone 7a)

Bypass pruner that is a nice size for YOUR hand &is easy to sharpen.

Clinton, CT(Zone 6b)

Felco pruners are a once in a lifetime purchase. Expensive but worth it and now and then on sale. I have a Felco #2...the old basic model.

Lima, OH

I agree with David_Paul, Felco is a GREAT pair of pruners. I worked in the nursery/landscape business for several years and that is what we carried. Another very good brand, and substantially less expensive is Corona, I have two pair, both at least 8-10 years old. This year though, my girlfriend bought me the new Leatherman Hybrid, a folding bypass prunner with several tools on it (knife, saw, weeder, etc.) and I have used it exclusively since receiving it (outside of larger stuff). I have always carried the standard Leatherman's with me though. The Hybrid also has a nice spongy handle that is very easy on your hands.

Framingham, MA

Coronas were the best pruners made- carbon steel, differential temper, spare and comfortable design, but they are now made in Mexico (previously US Made, circa 2003) and the quality has suffered. if you find an old pair on sale, Coronas are the way to go.

the swedish thingies have that sheet spring, which rusts, and a bulky handle. Felco, that's the name- don't like em, though the blades are good, they simply don't measure up to the old Coronas.

Another Felco fan here. I have the #2 model:
http://www.felcostore.com/pruners.jsp