Deadheading Geranium 'Rosanne'

Louisville, KY

Hi all, I just planted several Geranium 'Rosanne' and have a couple questions about deadheading.

1. Do i need to deadhead them?

2. If yes, do i just pinch them off right behind the flower or do I follow the stem back all the way to its base?

I am going to attach two pictures to better describe what I am asking. So do i do it like this.....

Thumbnail by HD28Cat
Louisville, KY

Or like this?

Thumbnail by HD28Cat
Pearl River, LA

Hey, I am not an expert gardener but I have a verigated variety that I deadhead almost daily. I take the stem all the way back like your second example. I have found that
they are also easy to root and you should not keep them too wet. They need to dry some between waterings. Maybe some one with more experience will answer you but this is my personal experience with them. shirleyt

Albany, OR(Zone 8a)

I never deadhead this one at all. It just keeps blooming and spreading all summer long here in the NW. Maybe in your area it is different.
Carol

Lincoln, NE(Zone 5b)

I deadhead mine like your second photo. In fact that's how I deadhead most flowers that have single blooms at the top of a stem. Otherwise, you end up with a lot of stems without leaves and that looks strange. My Johnson's Blue does not seem to bloom very long for me here. I thinks it's the hot summers that get to it.

susan

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)

In terms of any impact it'll have on the plant's subsequent growth/reblooming, it doesn't matter where you snip off the flower. Like Susan, for plants like this if I deadhead I tend to cut the stalk back further, but it's strictly an aesthetic thing. I don't grow this plant though so I don't know if deadheading is needed at all or not.

Louisville, KY

Thanks for the help. I am new at this but I am becoming obsessed :-)

Piedmont, AL(Zone 7b)