Fruit tree insecticide

(Zone 5a)

I will soon be needing to spray my fruit trees (apple, cherry, nectarine, plumcot). I have never done this before, and from what I understand, it is best to do insecticide and fungicide separately. All I can find in local stores is the all in one control. Can anyone recommend a brand that has just insecticide and a source to get it from? I prefer organic, if there is such a thing.

Thanks!

Glen Ellyn, IL(Zone 5b)

There are certainly plenty of insecticides you can use on your fruit trees to control pests. Rotenone and pyrethrin are derived from natural sources and some people consider them organic.

I agree that separate sprays are better than the all-in-one, which contains malathion. The most important thing is never to spray an insecticide when the trees are in flower, because of the bees.

For the plum curculio, it is best to spray just before [at the "green tip" phase] and especially just after bloom, when the new fruits are forming.

Argyle, TX(Zone 7b)

I bought 5 25lb bags of surround at peaceful valley farm supply ( [HYPERLINK@www.groworganic.com] ) for $29.99 each. Gardens alive and Arbico organics both want more than $70.00 per bag. This is suppossed to be organic pest control, though not an insecticide. My fruit may be doomed this year as I did too little too late. L Tilton has been a big help to me on some other threads.

L Tilton, will treated wood chips kill trees? Thanks,
Mike

Glen Ellyn, IL(Zone 5b)

Treated with what?

Baltimore, MD