Planning outdoor August wedding in Vermont Need advice

Tinmouth, VT(Zone 4b)

Hi
I'm brand new to Dave's Garden, and haven't posted before. And maybe this is the wrong place for this question, but I didn't see a forum labeled "weddings" :-)
My daughter is getting married in late August at her brother's house, near ours. And she has asked her Dad and me to plant a flower garden as a backdrop for the ceremony. She and her fiance live in Maryland, just outside D.C., but are getting married here in Vermont. Laura would like to have flowers that are stepped up in height, maybe 6' or so in the back (sunflowers?) and gradually shorter toward the front. She would like the garden shaped in sort of a horseshoe so they can stand in the semi-circle. She's also talking about a trellis!
The space we have to work with is my son's usual vegetable garden plot. The facing side is about 30' across and it can be as deep as needed. It has full sun.
Everything has to be annuals, of course (they could have given us a few years notice! :-). Everything also have to be blossoming in Vermont in late August. We can't safely plant seeds outside here until late May in most cases (our snow isn't all gone yet).
Laura kindly informed me that, even though her colors are blue and yellow, we don't have to stick to any color format. Anything will work. Wasn't that sweet of her??
My husband and I mostly grow vegetables, plus a few perennials in the flower gardens. He is very good at it, but the planning part has us both scratching our heads.
Does anyone out there have any suggestions? We would be eternally grateful for any advice.
Thanks in advance. Genie

The Monadnock Region, NH(Zone 5a)

Genie:

I'm not of the midset this morning to help answer this question. Perhaps a bit later in the day. But ... I know of a lot of folks who would LOVE to help you out. They are on the Northeast Forum.

http://davesgarden.com/community/forums/f/region_ne/all/

Carson City, NV(Zone 6b)

Hi Genie,