New to sowing...Zone 5b

Westville, IL(Zone 5b)

This is my first time of doing any Sowing. I will follow with a list of plants and flowers that I am wanting to Sow for my Butterfly Garden. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I picked up these seed packets at menards, and a couple at a local farm supply store.

Herb Host Plants
Chives, Common ( Allium schoenoprasum )
Cilantro ( Coriandrum sativum )
Rosemary ( Rosemarinus officinalis )
Thyme, Common ( Thyme vulgaris )
Chamomile, german ( Matricaria recrutita )
Lavender ( Lavendula angustifolia )
Parsley
Oregano ( Oreganum vulgare )
Dill, Fernleaf ( Anthum graveolens )
Chives, garlic ( Allium tuberosum )

and the Flowering plants

Tithonia
Velvet queen sunflower
Shasta Daisy ( Silver princess )
Blanket Flower burgundy ( Gaillardia Aristata )
Columbine ( William Guinness )
Asclepias tuberosa ( 2 different packets...one reads Butterfly weed, the other Butterfly flower....2 different heights as well )

Thanks

TJ

BOUQUETS and a big welcome to Dave's and wintersowing! You'll enjoy your butterfly gardens this year and may even have a few to share with others!! Your columbine will probably bloom next year.The blanket flower and most of your herbs will take off with the heat.

Columbia, MO(Zone 5b)

I haven't had any luck with lavender. I am a newbie too. Sunflower you shouldn't have any trouble with though. I would get some marigolds. They are easy to start.

Nilwood, IL(Zone 5b)

Your chives will go everywhere. Put them away from all others. I have been trying to get mine out of the place where I had them for years. BEV

Cincinnati, OH(Zone 6a)

Welcome, ShadowJack.

Karen

Garner, NC(Zone 7b)

I have had super ws germination on parsley, columbine, daisies, and fernleaf dill. I would wait on the sunflowers for a bit. They come up pretty quickly and might get large before you get a chance to get them out.
Bev

Mackinaw, IL(Zone 5a)