who do I have red spots on my coffee filters?

(AnnaRuth) Danville, VA(Zone 7a)

Greetings, all. I am a newbie and have seedlings everywhere.I think that's good! I tried the coffee filter method, and have red spots all over my coffee filter! Also, when do I plant the seeds? Some have sprouted a "radicle", (is that right, radicle??) and I need to know if I should pot them now or wait for some further action from my little seeds. Thanks in advance for your help!
gp

Bedford, VA(Zone 7a)

Not sure this is correct but I always plant them when they show signs of life, using a tweezers. This way they don't dry out but you are sure that they are alive.

thanks dragon...but do I put the little seed in the soil, or just the root? I thought I already sent this, but I don't see it, so apparently I didn't. Im so new and fairly overwhelmed by the site. Thanks again!

Hammond, LA(Zone 8b)

I would still plant the seed as deep as the growing instructions tell you to, with the root below it of course.

Thanks jlp...They are so tiny, I'm just afraid I'll squish them. Should they go into the potting soil or back into seed starting medium? Thanks!

Fredericksburg, VA(Zone 7b)

Just give it a try, ginpan, I'm sure you'll do just fine and so will your seedlings. Do sterilize those tweezers, though, especially if you are planting different seeds. If there are any problem children in there, that way you won't spread anything and can spot a problem more quickly. Good luck!! Love to see new gardeners take the first steps :)

Thanks Doc....I'm goin' in lol

Hammond, LA(Zone 8b)

I would use the seed starting medium.

Calgary, AB(Zone 3a)