Anyone germinate Malvaviscus arboreus, turks cap?

Bluffton, SC(Zone 9a)

I soaked mine and potted them up and nothing is happening two weeks later. These slow to germinate? Just wondering if anyone has any pointers?

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)

I'm curious how you got yours to set seed in the first place...I've been growing these for several years now and honestly I've never seen a seedpod!

Seale, AL(Zone 8b)

I didn't soak my seeds, but just planted them in pots. It took mine between 3 and months to come up. Mine didn't start to sprout until the temps got consistantly in the high 70's and eighties day and night. Even then it was uneven germination.

About the time I ready to give up on them they poped there heads up. Now I just plant em and water when I water everythin else, but generally just ignore them to get them to grow.

Seale, AL(Zone 8b)

Ecrane.. Sorry hit the send button and forgot about your question. If you want them to set seed best way is to get out there with q tip and hand pollinate some of them yourself if you don't have butterflies and hummers and bees to do the job.

Gather the pollen on the q-tip and then gently go aroudn and pollinate the plants. If ya don't have a slew of the plants it hard to get some to germinate. The seeds are inside the tiny fruit they make and a bear to dig out.

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)

That's what I suspected. I do have hummers all over mine constantly but have still never seen seeds. The reason I asked is that someone on another forum had asked about it, and I knew I'd never seen seeds on mine so I figured they might be one that you need to hand pollinate.

Greenville, IN(Zone 6a)

I had a few seeds I WS them I'm hoping that will work I just did sow them the other day :)

Seale, AL(Zone 8b)