landscaping front of house - clean slate!

Hi, I’m a newbie here and am looking for some advice on landscape design for the front of our first house (which we recently bought). When we bought the house the yard was a total disaster. We have since had a collapsing retaining wall rebuilt, and had a scraggly hedge that was at the front of the house pulled out, so now the whole front of the house looks “naked”. We have a clean slate. I am looking for some ideas for what to plant at the front of the house and continuing along the top of the retaining wall.

Ideally, we’d like plants with winter interest that are deer-resistant and easy to care for. Preferably nothing that’s poisonous or has sharp thorns (as we have small kids). We’re not crazy about azaleas/rhododendrons, but are open to anything else (especially native plants).

We are in zone 6b and the area we need to plant is east facing, and gets the morning sun.

Any ideas much appreciated!

Thumbnail by esadungada

second photo - this one along the top of the retaining wall

Thumbnail by esadungada
Richmond, VA(Zone 7a)

Ooh! I love blank canvases!! My yard was the same way and it's so much fun figuring out what to put where. Course DH just saw dollar signs!!

So the first thing you need to determine is what kind of sun does the front yard get. Were these pics taken in the afternoon? If so, then you definitely need to go with plants that can with stand the heat. Second, what kind of garden/landscape do you want? Easy - no maintenance; "middle of the road" or "love to get your hands dirty all the time". Also, do you want a theme - like a cottage garden or something more formal; a garden that attracks butterflies and birds?? No matter which, perennials are your best bet. On the slope to your retaining wall, you could create a terraced garden where some of your plants can cascade down.