What are the benefits of using Peroxide 3% for your plants?

Duncan, OK(Zone 7a)

Hi all, I am some what of a newbie here, I have a question for you all. I have heard that you can use peroxide on your plants. what are the benefits, when & why to use it, how often and how much peroxide per how much water should one use?
Thanks

Cincinnati (Anderson, OH(Zone 6a)

Some use H2O2 (Look for '3%' on the hydrogen peroxide bottle at the drug store) in a 1 part to 20 part solution with water to mist or water plants that are root bound, sickly, or water logged. They say it helps the plant get needed oxygen.

Some soak hard to germinate seeds with the same solution (or make it a bit stronger, even) but you have to be careful about how long you soak the seeds. They say the soak with help breakdown the seed coat and bring oxygen to the seed for better germination. This is easy to overdo though so best to be conservative on this.

Some mist seedlings and plants with the H2O2 - H2O solution to prevent mold and damping off.

There is a H2O2 that is a 35% grade that is used by hairdressers that is very strong and most gardeners avoid that one and go for the weaker 3% grade. About a dollar a bottle or less at the grocery or drug store.

I use hydrogen peroxide as a preventative to 'damping off' and to give sickly plants a 'tonic'. Seems to work for me.

This message was edited Mar 10, 2008 5:17 AM

Hydera bad, India

Sir it control the moss growths in lawns?
can we use this in tender flowering seedlings like petunia.antirhinnum etc
With regards
srinivas

I don't know about the moss, that is different from mold and mildew.

Try it on a few seedlings and see how it does. I can't say for sure.

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)

I don't think the 3% stuff will do anything for moss--the 35% might if you use it pretty concentrated, but I think if it's concentrated enough to get rid of moss it's going to hurt your grass too.

Winnetka, IL