Do you garden with Native Plants?

Josephine, Arlington, TX(Zone 8a)

I thought it would be interesting to see how many people use native plants in their landscapes or gardens.
Also what is your motivation?
I have been using native plants for 10 years, and my motivation is conservation of plants and resources as well as education, plus I am in love with the Native flora of Texas.
Josephine.

Thumbnail by frostweed
south central, PA(Zone 6b)

I will love to post some pics and info on what I have, but everything's dormant here and we have long cold springs, so it will be a while before I have anything interesting to share. So, I guess the southerners pile on first! : )

CompostR, you can always use last years pictures, or just tell us why and how you got into gardening with Native plants?

Gladwin, MI(Zone 5a)

We live on the lake and are carefull what we put on our plants and lawn. (read, we don't use anything but lake water, so our lawn is not very lush)

We find some flowers here and there growing faster than the grass. (black eyed susan, daisy, etc)
I then move them to a better location. They are free, deer resistant, easy to grow, and very pretty.
I started this last year and it has really been fun. I hope to learn more on this forum.

Great!, it is so much fun to discover all those beautiful plants out there! The little flowers that no one notices can be so beautiful if we look closely and learn to appreciate them.
Such a wonderful adventure watching nature unfold.

We are organic gardeners too, and don't use pesticides or artificial fertilizers, I love composting, it is such a marvelous process, how things die, nature changes them, and they become food for other living things.
We recycle all our plant and kitchen materials, I don't like to call it waste, because everything has a purpose and can be used to improve the soil.

Santa Fe, NM