Germinating catalpa seeds?

Lake City, FL(Zone 8b)

Good morning folks,

I collected quite a few catalpa seeds recently, but I'm not sure what conditions these guys favor for germination--light, dark, cool, warm, etc.....

I'd love to hear from anyone who's had experience getting these trees started. :)

Thanks a bunch!

Heather

Byron, GA

I wintersowed some in January and they have started to come up. I don't think they need stratifying but I didn't have the room inside. This is my first time sowing catalpa seeds. Go ahead and sow some since you have plenty.

Digs

Lake City, FL(Zone 8b)

Oh wow, that's cool, Digs! I had no idea if there was going to be some trick with these or not.

Thanks!

Byron, GA

Your welcome. Hope you're successful.
Digs

Ottawa, ON(Zone 5a)

I'm lucky to walk my dog in the arboretum of Canada's experimental farm, here in Ottawa, and we have a section devoted to catalpa. I'm interested to know what varieties you folks are growing... and are they trees or multi-branched shrubs? Deciduous in your parts?

Most of the catalpas look about only 10 years old, but last year the oldest one had to be taken out because of massive crown damage from an ice storm. The trunk was over 5 ft in diameter, a huge specimen. Such a loss.

I ask because I want to plant a catalpa in a border of a parking lot (I live in the middle of the city) and I'm wondering about varieties, growth habits, roots/underground cables, etc. Any advice would be appreciated.

Byron, GA