Anyone use this type of greenhouse before?

(AnjL) Fremont, CA(Zone 9b)

I just bought it and this is my first time trying seeds in it. I live in CA and its about 50-60 degrees during the day, drops to upper 30's at night. I have 10 trays in it that I started the seeds in last weekend. 2 trays (5 dayers) are already germinating. There are no lids on the trays inside the green house. it is set up outside, and the germination rate on the seeds are different for each tray. some start in 5 days, some in 15 days, etc.

My concern is that the seeds that have already germinated need to have the 'lid' removed, but that would mean unzipping the whole house and the other trays arent ready yet.

I usually start the trays indoors and just take the lids off the trays that have germinated...I dont know what I was thinking when I filled this thing!

Any helpful ideas?

Thumbnail by 1AnjL
Saint James, MO(Zone 6b)

Did you happen to get that at Lowe's? I was very disappointed in mine when I learned it had two holes in it!!! I thought they were suppose to be tougher, but I guess the snow and ice got the best of it.

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)

Are you seeing lots of condensation on the inside of the plastic? If not then I wouldn't worry. It's not as airtight as the domes that you put directly on the flats, so chances are some air is getting in there and keeping the humidity lower than you probably think it is. I have a full size greenhouse, and the humidity inside it pretty much matches the humidity outdoors.

I bought it at target.com $40 thought it would be a great idea. There are NO holes in it.

There was alot of condensation on it, so I unzipped it a little. It still gets cold here at night, so I dont want to open it much more. it is set up outside, so I dont want to freeze the seedlings.

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)

You could try unzipping it to vent a bit during the day and then zip it back up at night.