started my own from seed...

Chesapeake, VA(Zone 7b)

last weekend. First time I have ever done this. I have them in my west facing windowsill. The room is super bright and warm. How often should I take the lid off? I have been taking it off for a couple of hours every other night. I'm thinking this will help keep it from molding. Is this correct? Do you think I'll have a chance at doing them this way? i do not have any artificial light to use and my sunroom is not heated enough to do them out there. I am trying Burpees big boy, better boy and beefmasters
thx
dawn

Thumbnail by pdoyle23323
Chesapeake, VA(Zone 7b)

Thumbnail by pdoyle23323
Hutto, TX(Zone 8b)

Dawn,

This is my first year to start my own tomato seeds, too. I used the same Jiffy pellets and tray combo to start my tomato seeds. I put them under cheap florescent lights once they sprouted, though. They did fine. I left them in the tray until they were about 4 or 5 inches tall, with several true leaves, then I potted in 3 inch pots.

Someone else may may be able to comment about the windowsill light. I've read that it's okay if you turn the plants (tray) regularly to avoid having the plants grow toward the light.

David

Houston, TX(Zone 9a)

Hi Dawn - I learned all I know from the info on the "sticky" at the top of the Tomato forum. In the case of seed starting, read this classic thread from tomato expert, Carolyn. You can't go wrong with those great threads. The plant files are also incredibly helpful - link in the sticky as well. I used lights until it got warm enough during the day to put them out - now I bring them in every night when it's really cold. On very cold days they go back in my sunny window. Our plant out date is about 3-4 weeks away and I'm getting ready to transplant them the second time. Good luck!

Chesapeake, VA(Zone 7b)

Thanks! Will check out the stickies
dawn

Lawrenceville, GA(Zone 7b)

Hi Dawn: