winter sown biscotti containers and obsessions

Molino, FL(Zone 8b)

Hi, This is my first year winter sowing and I am having fun so far. I've got several types of containers. A friend just gave me 6 biscotti containers. I love them! They have a large lid that makes it easy to water if needed and are clear and also a good size. I cute them apporximately in half leaving a small part conected, like is recommended for the milk jugs and burned holes with a soldering iron. Here our milk jugs are white so I don't think they would work. I do have one though that was a gallon water jug that is clear and I'm going to use that too. I also noticed that the parakeet seed container I have is similar to the biscotti container. I was thinking of pouring the seed out into a bag so I could use it. LOL I believe I'm developing an obsession. I also found myself looking in the trash can at work for discarded containers. Then I caught myself and walked away before someone thought I was crazy. I must get myself under control!

Frederick, MD(Zone 6b)

I'm glad you're having fun... wait until those sprouts start poking up! You'll be dancing all around!

Milk jugs here are sort of white, but translucent, not totally opaque. If you can see your hand through the material, then enough light can get through for the seedlings.

Pittsburg, MO(Zone 6b)

I'm not understanding the lid part, why is everyone concerned about putting lids on the containers, I have never done it and everything has turned out great.

Frederick, MD(Zone 6b)