1gallon pots

Spring City, TN(Zone 7b)

I have a zillion 1-gallon pots that I like to pot up my seedlings in for TLC. It occured to me that I spend DAYS and DAYS transplanting from bottles and plastic starter containers into these pots. These pots already have perfect drainage, height, and sturdiness. What they don't have is a lid.

I'm thinking Seran wrap and a rubber band and then I wouldn't have to transfer anything. For the cost of the wrap and bands, it would save my aching back several days' labor.

Ideas?

Eureka, CA

I'll let someone else chime in who has more experience than I do ~ but from what I gather the milk jugs, for example, will give height to the reaching seedlings, as well as a more controlled airspace around them?? As in, less likely to get fried on a sunny day? I'm only grasping here, as I'm new to winter sowing. But it's heck to make a post and not have anyone respond, so thought I would. :o)

Sanna

Buffalo, TX(Zone 8b)

Use the same starter bottles on the plants, just go ahead and put them in the larger pots. But, heck what do I know. It just seems to make sense to me.

Alameda, CA(Zone 9b)

One thing to think about if you use a gallon pot filled to capacity is that you may impair/slow down the ability of your tiny seedlings to form a nice root mass. In a smaller container, they have less soil bulk to push their way through.

Buffalo, TX(Zone 8b)

You could put the seedlings in little folded paper cups and put the cups in the larger container. That would solve the root mass problem. By the time the cup dissolves the root mass would be nice and tight.

Again, that just sort sounds feasible to me. No real past experiences on doing it to draw on.

Gilmer, TX(Zone 8a)

I'm glad I looked at this thread. I've always wondered why everyone just didn't take the biggest pots the had and sow in that.
Never thought about the little seeds not needing all that space.

Chewelah, WA(Zone 5a)