Frequency of blooms?

Long Island, NY(Zone 7a)

Why do some amaryllis send up multiple blooming stalks, one after the next, while others only bloom once? It's my first year growing amaryllis and I'm trying to learn about them. I've fertilized often - would that have something to do with it?

Thanks.

Bessemer City, NC(Zone 7b)

It just depends on the cultivar and at what point it is in its life.

New bulbs tend to have more scapes since they are grown and processed to do that. A wonderful showing all at once, in their possibly temporary life.

But even then, one could get only 1 or 2 scapes when someone else's same hybrid might give three. The size (maturity) of the bulb could be behind it and the way it was handled. If it was harvested at a certain point in its cycle, a scape or two may halt in development and not lengthen in the cool storage. One might only get one while another bulb of the same cultivar might produce 2 or 3. But those other healthy scapes will likely bloom later--sometimes in a few weeks or months later during the growing season--if they remain alive and all goes well.

Some hybrids/species may only produce one or two scapes at any one time regardless. That's just how they are.

After being grown by the new owner, the maximum number of scapes is rarer. I'm not sure how they prevent a bulb from sending up scapes during the year, but that will affect how many emerge after a rest or cool period. Also, it takes months for a start initiated scape to grow large enough to produce flowers, and if that doesn't happen under optimum conditions, the scape count for the next blooming is cut down.

So many factors, all active at once, will determine what a bulb does and when. Even the conditions of each different home environment will produce different results for different growers, and those can vary greatly year-to-year.