Can I winter sow annuals

Gilmer, TX(Zone 8a)

Please tell me a little about what I can winter sow. Do they need to be perennials , what about marigolds.
I've started some, but whenever I start to take them outside, I chicken out or I put them out and worry!!!
Just a general rule of thumb maybe

Whitsett, NC(Zone 8a)

LorraineR - This is my first year to WS, so I was thinking of keeping it simple. I had sat down to make a list of seeds that I'd like to try, and within 5 minutes, I was up to over 20! Over the course of the past 3 weeks, my son and I have planted 21 types of seeds, and I do think most - if not all - are annuals. Here are the seeds that have sprouted so far:
mexican sunflower, shamrock, striped marvel marigold, simba marigold, la bamba marigold or spearmint (there's only one sprout so far in that container, so don't know which is which!), bluebonnet, cornflower, virginia stock, and a JMG. They've been outside since we did them - the last batch was just last week.

Thumbnail by Syrumani
Cordele, GA(Zone 8a)

I'm winter sowing all the hardy annuals that I have in my seed box. I would think any that would normally self-sow are just fine to winter sow.

Cincinnati, OH(Zone 6a)

I can't really answer well due to the extreme difference in our zone 8- zone 6 weather difference. Annuals certainly can be wintersown, you just might want to wait to plant out into beds until close to your last frost date. For me, last frost date is around May 15 and I start to plant out tender annuals, like zinnias, in early May. I don't even sow those until late March or early April. Hardy annuals, like poppies and bachelor buttons, will take a good bit of frost with no problem. I plant those out around 2 sets of true leaves, maybe around early April. Hardy perennials/ biennials will take about anything that's thrown at them.