poor root development

Monticello, MN(Zone 4b)

I have been starting seeds under grow lights for many years. I also have a greenhouse to which I move the seedlings in late March. I have tried many techniques but my seedlings always have small roots, even in mid summer. I do not overfertilize. Any thoughts? I am wondering if my water may not be right or it may not have the right ph. hmmm... I can't figure it out.

(Zone 9a)

Hello mdeano,

What plants are you starting?

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)

Is the size of the roots proportional to the plant? Small seedlings aren't going to have a ton of roots, the roots will grow as the plant does. If the whole plant is smaller than you think it ought to be, then maybe you're not fertilizing enough. If it's just the roots, then you might try a product like SuperThrive or some sort of root booster, that may help.

Another possibility might be your pot size--with my seeds, I start them off in cell packs, then move them into 2" pots, then 4", etc. I've noticed that when they're still in the cell pack, they grow to a certain point but then don't really get much bigger until I pot them up into the 2" pot, then same thing, they grow to a point but then don't grow much more until I move them up to the 4" pot. You don't want to overpot them, but you might try potting up right away as soon as they're a size that's close to appropriate for the next pot size up.

Deep East Texas, TX(Zone 8a)

Are you watering from bottom? Doing so can make the roots reach deeper for the water in my experience.

Monticello, MN(Zone 4b)