Something ate my baby Amaryllis!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Titusville, FL(Zone 9b)

I've been growing five baby amaryllis for about 8 months and the other day, something just chewed all the green off all of them except one. I've got pics... what did this??!!! I am so upset!!!!

I am hoping they will still survive... I peeked in the dirt and it looks like a little bulb is growing, so maybe more green will grow??

Thumbnail by LAKelley2
Titusville, FL(Zone 9b)

Here's another pic

Thumbnail by LAKelley2
Titusville, FL(Zone 9b)

And here's the little "stumps" in the dirt

Thumbnail by LAKelley2
Bessemer City, NC(Zone 7b)

Oh, what a bummer!

Wonder what did that? Have rabbits or squirrels there?

I would think your bulbs will be fine. Sometimes they will go formant under cooler temps with cutting back, so keep on the dry side if you can. They should pop right back in spring.

R.

Titusville, FL(Zone 9b)

Raydio - I have squirrels, but why would they just chop them off at the base and leave the stems there?! Do you think it could be a cutworm? I don't even know if cutworms bother plants other than tomatoes, etc.

Cut worms was something I thought of, and it sure looks like their kind of damage.

You can find them roaming around at night, or you can scratch around in the soil nearby your plants to uncover them from their hiding place in the day.

R.

Titusville, FL(Zone 9b)

I'll look... I only had five babies, but that sure bummed me out!!!!!! It's weird, I thought having a nursery and the pots being up off the ground that I'd be immune from cutworms. Maybe it was in the soil I was using.

Solingen, Germany(Zone 7a)

I regret that I am being so late to get attention to this discussion...
But for the sake of future sowing approaches:

This kind of damage was performed by the maggots of the fungus gnat.