Rooting Brugmansia In Water Crystals?

South West, LA(Zone 9a)

Can this be done? Has anyone done it? Comments?

Kingston, OK(Zone 7a)

Yes it would work. They root easy. But why?

South West, LA(Zone 9a)

I usually root them in cups of water which is fine for a few cuttings but when you have over a hundred changing all those cups daily is quite a job! Im looking for something that will last a good bit longer between changing.

(Sheryl) Gainesboro, TN(Zone 6b)

Bubbler? Then you would just top off the water.... ?

San Antonio, TX

Whats a "bubbler"?

Saint James, MO(Zone 6b)

I have one that is rooting in water, and I only change it every few days? It is starting a nice little root, and doesn't seem to have any problems. I am a total newbie to Brugs, but oh am I ever in love! I have some others that I just stuck in dirt, and they all are getting new growth as well. If there is some way to make them root faster, and grow more quickly, I would LOVE to know! :)

South West, LA(Zone 9a)

A bubbler is like a fish tank that runs O2 thru the water. I've never tried it but it may be the way to go.
I only have one problem with it. I like to keep all my plants seprate to reduce the possibility of spreading disease. I would need one for each plant

Kingston, OK(Zone 7a)

Another option I am using on cuttings is 100% Vermiculite or Perlite with wick draining. Works great. Just keep the medium damp. Holds the cuttings where you want them. Add H202 and a root starter every once in a while to the water. Repot when you have roots. You can also use Coir along with the above. Ted

Saint James, MO(Zone 6b)

Please tell me what you mean by "wick". I asked on another forum what they meant by wicking and I never got a response.

Kingston, OK(Zone 7a)

Wick watering is where you use a wick to drain the potting medium into a water reservoir.
Gets rid of the perched water table in the soil so that the plant has more potting soil to root in. Or can be used to bottom water the plant.