Ninebark & boxwood cutting?

Grand-Falls, NB(Zone 4a)

In late summer, I took about 10 cutting of Ninebark, and of boxwood. I put rooting hormone on them. (rooting hormone may have been too old) I put these in mix of potting soil and coarse sand. Kept the soil moist, but no Roots formed on them yet. Boxwood still looks healthy, Ninebark has no more leaves, but I keep hoping to see life coming from them. I have them in the house since October, in a sunny window. Is it normal for them to take this long to root?
Two years ago I started boxwood cutting directly in the ground in the spring, and I have a few plants from them. It worked, but now I can't seem to get these babies going in pots? What do you expert think? Should I keep hoping? Could it be that, I took the cuttings to late in the season? Any advise you can give me, will be very appreciated. Thanks

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)

I'm not an expert on cuttings, but at least on the boxwood if you had good luck in the spring and you're not having luck now, my guess is spring is a better time of year to do the cuttings. But if your cuttings still look healthy there's no harm in giving them some more time, it could be they'll still root but will take longer than the springtime cuttings did.

Grand-Falls, NB(Zone 4a)

Thanks ecrane3, I checked my Ninebark yesterday, one had roots on it, but the rest, of those cuttings are black in the bottom, still hard though. I'll leave the boxwood alone. will wait until spring and see what gives.

Kyle, TX(Zone 8b)

I have done very well with boxwood!! They root easily with soft wood cuttings in spring, Dip&Gro 1 to 3 thousand ppm, mist or poly cover, about 6 weeks. The 9 bark I am not familiar with. I think you may have been too late with your cuttings. Gene

Grand-Falls, NB(Zone 4a)

I believe your right my being to late with my cuttings. Because I did succeed with boxwood in spring. I will try my Ninebark again in spring and see how that goes.

Kyle, TX(Zone 8b)

Burn_2007