Getting Ready for the Holidays.

Springfield, MA(Zone 6a)

Some of us celebrate Christmas, other Hanukka, but most cultures have some sort of celebration around the winter solstice. What do you do to get ready?

I make a gingerbread house - which really is for eating- not just for looking
I make fruit cakes - good ones, with lots of pecans!
and I make Christmas plum pudding,
and mince tarts
and shortbread

so you can see my background is British.

This week we will start on the Christmas cards, and hopefully I will get ahead of the marking and we will actually get some shopping done. :-)

We are having the neighbourhood Christmas pot-luck dinner at our house, so we will have to be ready earlier than usual. We usually don't decorate until a week before Christmas.

Needless to say, I have clipped pictures of plants, and other items for gardens and pasted the images on sheets of paper so my husband knows (1) what I want, and (2) where to get it.

North Augusta, ON

At some point, when I was a child, my Dad decided to start new traditions. We had a seafood Christmas. He would order fresh shrimp, lobster, oysters, scallops, crab, smoked salmon...etc. Mom would make all these yummy dishes from them...sigh...I miss my Dad.

Springfield, MA(Zone 6a)

Seafood is different! He sounds like an interesting man.

North Augusta, ON

He was!!!

Lower Hudson Valley, NY(Zone 6b)

I've started decorating the house this weekend. Hopefully will be done by next weekend.

I like my tarts in one piece - especially the cuter ones.

Mid-Cape, MA(Zone 7a)

Our Christmas in California was pretty much the traditional one, but when we moved back here to Cape Cod, we found that our new in-laws also practiced a "fishy Christmas": clam pie on Christmas Eve, and Lobster Newburgh on Christmas Day! Pretty darn good, too!

Southern, CT(Zone 6a)