Rose Of Sharon Tree Seeds

Toronto, Ontario, Canada

This is my first time on DG and I am glad to join. I have a small backyard that I started planting last year. I have 2 dogs so I had trouble keeping my plants as they liked making crop circles in my flower beds so this year I built them up to a height of about 12'-18' high. I limited thier access to the yard this year and my garden took off. I compost regularily and have been swapping seeds, bulbs, etc. with the neighbours. I received some Rose of Sharon Tree seeds and I want to germinate them indoors over the winter. How do I go about doing this? What is the best way to get good results? If they turn out, I would like to bonsai some of the seedlings and grow at least one tree in my backyard. Can anyone help me with this?
Thank you,
Dwight.
p.s. I am attaching a picture of my garden from this summer. It may be a little dark but I took the pictures in the evening with a flash. I get the morning sun and the late afternoon sun, my yard faces north.

Thumbnail by dwf1313
Blyth, ON(Zone 5b)

Welcome Dwight! Your garden looks lovely - serene and peaceful in that light. I'm sorry it has taken me so long to respond to your thread. I was hoping that someone with actual knowledge of Rose of Sharon seed germination might come along to answer your questions. I did a Google search and came up with the following:

"Easy germination. Start seed indoors 4-6 weeks prior to last spring frost. Sow seeds on good seed starting mix, covering seeds with about 1/4" mix. Moisten mix and keep moist until germination begins. Place container in location at 68-70ºF. Seed should begin germinating in 10-20 days. Other info: Takes 3-4 years from seed to bloom."

"Soak them until you see a wee sprout, then plant sprout down into dampened soil. Place the pot in a ziplock bag until leaves appear!"