Holding Rhizomes Over The Winter

FLOYD, VA(Zone 6a)

Hi,

I am a landscaper working at a commercial property. Due to some construction I had to dig up a lovely bed of irises today. We are in Zone 7 and I am wondering if I can replant them yet this Fall or if I should hold the rhizomes over the winter and then plant in the Spring.

Thanks for your help!
Juanita

Lincoln, NE(Zone 5b)

Hi Juanita,

I would replant them now if at all possible; I think they'll be just fine in your zone. You may not get bloom next year, but at least they'll have a better chance.

(susie) Hastings, MI(Zone 5a)

Irises are very tough & I would say just plant them Last fall while I was moving some & forgot to plan a few & found them when I went to the shed in november & it was cold but no snow I put them in the ground anyway .
They sure bloomed for me this spring & I'm in Mich z5 . very cold .

But maybe others may tell you differ.
susie

FLOYD, VA(Zone 6a)

Thanks!! I kind of thought I could get them in yet. I didn't expect them to bloom next year, but I didn't want to lose them totally.

You guys are the best!
Juanita

(Arlene) Southold, NY(Zone 7a)

Definitely plant them now.

Sugar Valley, GA(Zone 7b)

I was just gifted with a large batch of Indian Chief Iris..I am trying to get them in the ground today but had to prepare a bed first...How deep do the rhizomes go in the ground?? I've been in the south so many years I can't remember the northern plantings...and haven't had Iris in years..

Appreciate the help...

Dusty

West Central, WI(Zone 4a)

I am so glad to see this thread. I have to move some iris, and we've already had a killing frost. Can I pot them and store them in my attic? I winter store other bulbs, etc. there and monitor the temps which generally stay around 54 degrees. I have to prepare their new site, and there is no more time this year.

Crosbyton, TX(Zone 7a)

rvn....i planted some a couple weeks ago and they are coming up right now....i think we are in the same zone:)