Collecting seeds

Leesburg, FL(Zone 9b)

Since i'm new to this, i went to the wintersown site and read up on it
http://wintersown.org/wseo1/Saving_Seeds.html

question though...

my neighbor will just pluck off the flower head and hand it to me for the seeds. she also did this last year with marigolds, and i found they all molded on me.

the ones she gave me this year, i put in plastic deli containers to dry

what is the best route for saving seeds?

and should i just tell her to leave them be until they are browned?

Thanks,

Terese

Conneaut, OH(Zone 5a)

Seeds have to be dried out before you store them.I use a window screen lined with newspaper.The screen is suspended with one gallon paint cans.I set this up in the basement in front of the dehumidifier.Stir the pods every few days.Generally in about two weeks the seeds are totally dried out.Then I put the pods in labeled zip lock bags.Sometime in the dead of winter,I separate the seeds from the pods.This method has worked for me for years.

Long Island, NY(Zone 6b)

I wait until the seed head is brown before collecting - then I separate the seed from the pod and put them in plastic dishes for ~2 weeks before I transfer them to little plastic bags for storage.

Whenever I am unsure what the seed looks like - I google it or I go to The Seed Site http://theseedsite.co.uk/

Leesburg, FL(Zone 9b)

Thanks -- for my own seeds... i am trying to wait until the pod is brown.
some, like the marigolds she gave me, i've put into a clear 1# deli container wit no lid to let them dry.

but all the seeds i've collected, i do believe are dry, but they are also going into those containers.

I;ve got my eye on a gorgeous red zinnia... i hope she doesn't pluck off all of the flower tops before they dry.....

thanks for the site... i've been there before, but not bookmarked it yet. [til now].

Cincinnati (Anderson, OH(Zone 6a)

Lots of good ideas on how to collect really neat seeds on this DG forum, too.