Meyer Lemon Tree: when will the lemons ripen?

Columbia, SC

We bought a Meyer Lemon tree in June and it seems to like where it is, in the ground in a zone 8a climate, protected by a wall on its west side, with lots of sun during the day. The tree is groaning with green lemons; when will they ripen? I have seen only one or two new blossoms, no new lemons. Should I expect the lemons to turn yellow in October? That is getting close to a possible freeze in this area.
--Don

New Iberia, LA

Hey Don
I have the same problem as you. This is my first year with a loaded Meyer lemon tree and no color change yet. I swear the more I look, the greener they look. I think that for my area it’s October/November when they ripen.
Don’t worry about the flowers. My Meyer as well as my Satsuma’s and Hamlin’s are still producing a few flowers.
Oldude

San Antonio, TX(Zone 8b)

Here the citrus doesn't begin to show color until mid-December usually. And if left on the tree for a couple of weeks or even longer the flavor will intensify. Last year the tangerine crop was so huge that I didn't get the last of it harvested until early March, and the taste was still superb, even though the some of the rinds were slightly discolored from the freezes and from rubbing on branches during high winds. Same for the Meyer lemons. I have a couple of young kumquats to set out soon. A couple of years ago while visiting the Botanical Gardens here on the afternoon of Christmas Eve I noticed that the grove of kumquat trees was carrying a full load of ripe fruit along with almost as many blooms.

La Grange, TX(Zone 8b)