How to get rid of pecan trees in flowerbeds

Austin, TX(Zone 8b)

Don't get me wrong, I love squirrels except I detest trying to get rid of the pesky pecan trees that are constantly growing in my flowerbeds, because the squirrels love to bury the pecans.

I would like to know if there is any way to prevent the squirrels from planting the pecans in my flower beds. This is a constant battle and causes me much more stress than any bug! The pecan trees LOVE the weed killer I spray on them. They turn brown and look dead, BUT they come back with a vengeance. Look at the problem I have now with a pecan tree taking over my Yaupon Holly tree. Both trees will have to be dug up, and the Yaupon Holly will have to be replanted. I have been fighting this particular pecan tree for the 14 years I have lived here. Several people have tried to kill it, but it keeps coming back. I guess because the root is so far down there is no way to get rid of it. I would welcome any suggestions!

Here is a link to website where another person here in Austin has a classic description with the same problem.

http://www.noaura.com/pecans.html

Thumbnail by Deloresw
Austin, TX(Zone 8b)

The direct URL in the above message should be:

http://www.noaura.com/pecans.html

Austin, TX(Zone 8b)

Sorry, I don't know why the link is not showing /pecans.html at the end.

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)

I had problems with them planting walnuts in all my containers (a few in the garden, but most of them in containers), then I took that black plastic bird netting and put it over the tops of the containers and they stopped. I'm not sure if you want to do that all over your garden or not, seems like a lot of work, but I can't think of how else to do it. Unless one of the repellents that they sell would work to keep squirrels out of the bed altogether.