Seperating Chaff from seeds

Cordele, GA(Zone 8a)

Just wondering who besides me are having a hard time finding the time to sit down and husk-out the seeds sorta speak. I have been collecting spent flower heads for a while now. Got lunch paper bags filled with dried pods and blooms. However, it's finding the time to sit down and "shell the peas" that I have a hard time doing.

Birmingham, AL(Zone 7b)

Cordeledawg,

I have been gathering flower heads and drying, but I can't tell the chaff from the seed. Now that is a bad problem. I am new to gardening, so I just keep it all, will plant it all, and pray something comes up!

North West, OH(Zone 5b)

Hey Traci, if you ever have a spare minute check out this sight:

http://theseedsite.co.uk/

I was all a-tither when I first stumbled upon it. It is a veritable gold mine of seed saving information ...everything from where to find the seeds, to what they look like to seedling images. It lists plants that I even forgot I had and would never have thought of save their seed.

Birmingham, AL(Zone 7b)

Lala,
Thanks sooo much. I would not have spent TWO hours trying to figure out what kind of seed I had. It was labeled as hummingbird vine, but It was not like my hummingbird vine seeds. After EXTENSIVE search, I finally found it was trumpet vine and immediately decided against it.

I am about to go to Coleus and post some pics for everyone. That is after I look at this seedsite some more. lol.

To funny. As I started looking at site, it is the same one where I finally found the seed and I already have it bookmarked.

This message was edited Sep 12, 2007 12:53 AM

Cordele, GA(Zone 8a)

That is a great website! Planting chaff and all would work unless you want to trade seeds with someone. That's the reason I try to seperate the chaff as best I can. Last year before I had learned what the Echineca coneflower seeds looked like, I realized I had tossed the seeds and enveloped the chaff. Grrrrr

Deborah

Birmingham, AL(Zone 7b)