Vines, observations, and questions!

(Becky) in Sebastian, FL(Zone 10a)

I am a newbie this year but am fast becoming educated due to the fine folks here. And a few very generous and kind folks (particularly Emma!) sent me a 1-4 seeds of some BEAUTIFUL vines and blooms. In the Spring, I started some against my backyard fence trellis, but a rodent got them and chew the stalks clean through and killed them before I could get seeds from those cultivars. I started new seeds in rectangular containers. (Which I've discovered is probably not adequate growing conditions or room for the roots or vines. (Live and learn!) I am growing out 20 different cultivars in 5 containers. (4 vines in each.)

I decided to start this thread rather than keep repeating vine blooms in the "Morning Glories 2007 #" thread.

Being new, I have a ton of questions because I have found what I always believed to be simple and non-impressive vines and blooms to be quite the contrary! I am SO addicted to MGs now ... thanks to all the wonderful enablers here! LOL! Y'all are AWESOME folks and know your "stuff" about these amazing plants! My hat's off to all of you!! Please keep WOWing me!

I have more questions almost daily about growing MGs. Here is some photos of my current set-up. Not very impressive, but the vines are blooming! :-) :-)

Thumbnail by beckygardener
Greenwich, OH

Nice!setup,Becky.Pretty!mg's.

Living here in the south, it gets pretty hot! I used only Moisture Control potting soil and I spray the vines and roots with Bloom Booster. And of course try to place them in an area that gets lots of sun!

Another container of 4 vines.

3rd container of vines.

4th container.

Whitsett, NC(Zone 8a)

Here's how I figure it, beckygardener . . . if they don't like the environment, they won't grow well in it. These seem to be liking where they're at!

Greenwich, OH

This a a great! idea.I will grow a few mg's, next year trying this method.

And final container.

Baton Rouge area, LA(Zone 8b)