Manure vs. compost

Ottawa, ON(Zone 4a)

Is there any significant difference in the benefits to be derived from one vs. the other?

Troy, VA(Zone 7a)

I'm not an expert here but what I have found is that both work extremely well together. In fact I do mix manure into the compost heap. Manure is also a great mulcher and feeder especially to roses, but not placed where it will touch the canes. Manure at the bottom of trenches dug for vegetables and sweet peas also works. Good compost can work on it's own to great advantage.

Lyndeborough, NH

There might be 1 small advantage of manure.

But only if the soil is nutrient deficient.
and you don't get all of the ones needed.

Odds are these would be in the minors like Cu, Fe, Maganese
etc.

Santa Barbara, CA

Uncomposted manures can harbor pathogens dangerous to pets and even humans.

Lyndeborough, NH

Marsh

I understand that the one pathogen in horsemanure is only
while the manure is still hot from the horse.

Ergo the ans is don't eat fresh horse sh-t

Troy, VA(Zone 7a)

lol Byron - I won't.....ROFL

Ottawa, ON(Zone 4a)

Well, if I understand right, there aren't any significant differences. Manure may provide more trace elements, helpful only if your soil happens to be lacking them, and manure should always be well composted.

Bagged compost seems to be hard to come by around here, so I'm heading for manure.

New Paris, OH

Compost has many advantages over raw manure (if it is aged, it is composted) and if you have a garden and access to manure you have no excuse NOT to make compost piles.

Bagged compost is usually very low quality and should be avoided unless you have a good source for it. organic gardening did a story about 2 years ago about bagged comp-ost and found most wasn't even compost but rather slime with bark and rocks.