New to Australia

Dallas, TX(Zone 8a)

I am a newbie here in AU and I have a question about what type of potting soil to buy. I bought the Cactus and Succulent soil for my cactus and succulents. But I need to know what brand you all recommend for potting houseplants or plants that go into containers. Over in the states we had some well known brands that were better than others. But I do not know anything about the brands here in AU and was wondering if you could recommend some to me. Thanks so much.

Jesse

Coffs Harbour, Australia

Hi Jesse
Don't go for the el-cheapo ones! Searles is a good one (my favourite) but your local garden centre or produce shop will usually stock a good brand, and they have an Australian standards symbol on them which means they must be good! One with added water holding chrystals and slow release fertiliser is always a good start.
Good luck
Sue

Adelaide, Australia(Zone 10a)

Yep, go with a premium potting mix. It's one of those times where it really does matter. You can tell the different "grades" by looking for the Australian Standard "ticks". If they are red, they are premium. If they are black, they are standard. It's just a quick reference but, as weedwoman said, ask the people at your local garden shop. Dynamic Lifter and Osmocote I believe have premium potting mixes too. I think Yates has just come out with a whole range of new "professional" potting mixes. I looked at a bag the other day and wasn't very clear on what justified the extra $5 per bag!! Good luck! k

Townsville, Australia(Zone 10a)

I have tried a lot and the best one I have tried is Searles.

Coffs Harbour, Australia

Go the Searles!!! We should get royalties eh annette?

Townsville, Australia(Zone 10a)

Yes we should get royalties, there seed raising mix is magic:)

Coffs Harbour, Australia

Propagation mix and cacti and succulent mix is good too. LOL

Middle of, VA(Zone 7a)

Jesse!!! When did you move?!!!

Dallas, TX(Zone 8a)

Hi all,