Cleaning Small Seeds

North West, OH(Zone 5b)

How DO you clean those tiny little seeds? I'm trying to seperate the chaff from veronica seed and finding it near impossible. If I were keeping it all myself I wouldn't care, but I believe seed trading etiquette dictates otherwise? (Newbie here).

Any tips or pointers would be GREATLY appreciated.
Thanks,
La

Thumbnail by Lala_Jane
Cincinnati, OH(Zone 6a)

lala: I dump the pods into a bag or tupperware container with the lid, and shake to remove seeds from pods. I scrounge around the kitchen to find something that will help with cleaning. For large seeds I start with a huge Farberware metal colander. For smaller seeds I use a smaller plastic colander with smaller drainage holes. For tiny ones, I use a tiny wire strainer. I also have a lid, for straining cooking pots, with holes in it. I sometimes use that, too.

But I'm not all that particular. A little chaff won't hurt anything as long as you are sure you have an adequate number of seeds in the mix.

Karen

North West, OH(Zone 5b)

Thanks Karen, After working the pods with my fingers I did run the whole shebang through a small mesh strainer, but just as much chaff fell though as seed. With slightly larger seed I have gently "blown" the chaff away, but in this case the seed is no heavier than the chaff so that little trick only resulted in scattered seed.

Cincinnati, OH(Zone 6a)

Lala: Also remember you can approach the job from different angles. You can try to sift seeds from chaff, or chaff from seeds. In your picture above it looks like, using a very small wire strainer, if you keep stirring with a spoon, much of the small chaff might break up and fall thru and seeds be held in the strainer.

What kind of seeds are they?

Karen

North West, OH(Zone 5b)

They're veronica seeds Karen. And you're right, I really worked the pods (which are also very tiny) over in an attempt to get all the seed out.

Springfield, MA(Zone 6a)