Clematis on Clematis?

Anderson, SC(Zone 7b)

I'm new to Clematis but am buying some plants to put on a chain link fence (for privacy) I have enclosing a 4000sqft playyard I have for my little, non-digging dogs.

My question is - Can I overlap the clematis plants, or do I have to put something else in between?

Also, would Salvia be a good plant to put at its base? My landscaping is all "cool" colors.

The Monadnock Region, NH(Zone 5a)

SCNewbie:

I have seen it donw, and rather beautifully, with 'red', white, and 'blue' clematis. I didn't notice that there was anything else planted around the bushes, though. I do have zinnias growing with my clematis.

Liverpool, NY(Zone 5a)

Multi planted Clematis are wonderful. I have planted two and three together for a beautiful show all summer. I've combined viticellas with large flowering ones.
The result is blooming all summer.

Have fun!!!!

Anderson, SC(Zone 7b)

Thank you! :) I've bought 6 plants so far... doing it in reds, pinks, whites & purples. Hope it comes out as pretty as I'm shooting for!! lol

Liverpool, NY(Zone 5a)

Wow!! be sure and send pics when you can. Six of em will be gorgeous.
Enjoy!!! I'm so addicted. Want 'em all.

The Monadnock Region, NH(Zone 5a)

Oh, I can't wait to see some photos, either!!

Anderson, SC(Zone 7b)

Don't hold your breath waiting for the pics. ;) They're in 4" pots and not even going into the ground for another couple of months.

I've bought 10 of them now at eBay - 3 Pink, 2 Purple, 1 Black, 1 White, 3 Red. I'm going to put one on each 10' section of fence - that'll wrap most of the front for privacy. Hopefully it'll come out pretty.

Now, what kind of coverage should I give them at the bottom? Mulch, mid-height or short perennials, groundcover? They're going to be in full So Carolina sun.

Lower Hudson Valley, NY(Zone 6b)