New Hosta garden

Ottawa, ON(Zone 5a)

Today I bought the paint and marked out where I think the new Hosta garden will go on my front lawn. It's too dark to take a picture as we've got some showers going through the area, but this will give you and idea. I talked about this earlier on another thread - I forget which one, but the plan has varied a bit as I didn't like it when I started to draw it out with a garden just in the middle. So, I've decided to extend it out from the west side of the yard where the Linden tree is.

What do you think? I'm going to cover it with newspapers and then about 4-5 inches of mushroom compost. Let it sit for a few weeks and then plant.

This was the original plan.

Ann

Thumbnail by ViolaAnn
Ottawa, ON(Zone 5a)

This is the new plan. But it won't have the little dipsy-doodle at the top. I'm not very good at drawing with paint. It makes straight lines real easy, but anything else, forget it.

This message was edited Aug 12, 2007 6:38 PM

Thumbnail by ViolaAnn
Stanford, CA(Zone 9b)

It's going to be lovely and it removes a lot of edging for the lawn too.

Lisbon, IA(Zone 5a)

Very nice, I can hardly wait to see it when you have it finished! :)

Greentown, IN(Zone 5b)

So you are just making the existing bed larger?

Ottawa, ON(Zone 5a)

Yes, in essence. The middle of the lawn is really the only place that I have any shade left. I have a number of hostas in places that are too sunny for them and have centers melting out as a result.

Calgary, AB(Zone 3a)

I'm not a fan of lawns, so I'd take it ALL out! Okay, but that's just me.
Your new/extended bed is going to look great Ann! Looking forward to your pictures.

Virginia Beach, VA