Hollyhock ........again

Springfield, OH(Zone 6a)

My Black Magic Hollyhock is finished blooming it seems I would like to remove the whole stalks, can I do that and be able to get viable seed from them? They are still green. Sorry, I know Hollyhocks have been asked about a millon times on this forum.

Pearisburg, VA(Zone 7a)

I let the pods brown then collected them. After that I cut the stalk and new growth is coming from the old stalk roots.

Kathy

Springfield, OH(Zone 6a)

Thanks so much Kathy! This is my first year with Hollyhock. I will do what is recommended. Very nice of you to help me out. Thanks again,
Sandy

Pearisburg, VA(Zone 7a)

Others may have better suggestions but this worked for me. Kathy

Crozet, VA

This was my first year with hollyhock too. Even though I only had 4 plants, they really grew tall and gave out lands and loads of seed pods. I collected some of each color yesterday to have for next year.

I had pink, maroon and white ones. I would be interested in trading seeds for different colors from mine. Anyone?

I am so thankful for Dave's Garden.

Ruby

Springfield, OH(Zone 6a)

Hi Ruby! I know how you feel, I love DG.
My hollyhock are not "black" by any measure, but more of a dark burgundy, I love hollyhock but do not wish to grow any next year, my space is very limited.
For SASBE you are welcome to this seed. If you want it.

Silsbee, TX(Zone 9a)

I just came into this forum to ask about Hollyhock seeds...so I'll just ask in this thread, hope that's ok!

My single yellow Hollyhock's seed is just starting to ripen now. My question is what color *exactly* is the seed when it's ripe? lol. Should they be completely black, or is it ok if they have the yellow/tanish ring around the outside of the seed?

I just don't want to be picking too soon, I've never been known for my patience, lol!!
Thanks!

Pearisburg, VA(Zone 7a)