planting suggestions

Upstate, NY(Zone 5a)

Hi everybody, this is my first time posting here. I was wondering if anybody had any suggestions on what to plant on either side of my sidewalk in the front of the house. The sidewalk is about 9' long and part of it is in partial shade in the afternoon and part is in full sun all day long. This year I have petunias planted and they are doing great but I would like to plant a perennial there for next year. I am just stumped on ideas on what to plant there. Maybe I should take a picture tomorrw and post it???

Appleton, WI(Zone 5a)

Sure- post away.

Southeast, MA(Zone 6b)

Welcome and pics are always helpful. Whenever anyone asks me about what to plant when there are different conditions in an area, daylilies always come to mind. You can plant early, mid and late season bloomers and different colors or similar colors depending on your preference. How deep are the borders and what colors do you favor for blooms? I am sure you will get lots more suggestions if you want a mixed border here. Can't wait to see your pic.

(Arlene) Southold, NY(Zone 7a)

Welcome to DG!

As soon as you post pictures we'll all chip in with ideas.

Fairfield County, CT(Zone 6b)

You could plant daffodils under the day lillies and get two set of flowers in the space of one!

Finger Lakes, NY(Zone 6a)

I helped a good friend and neighbor plant these Stella d' Oro a couple of years ago. They will bloom in sun and partial shade. The more sun, the more blooms. They look good when not in bloom for their foliage. They are tough and fairly economical to plant. We planted these 18" on center. Just a thought.

Thumbnail by rsquared
Springfield, MA(Zone 6a)

I would edge a walkway with fragrance - catmint, lavender, lilies.

maybe a rose like Lyda - shade tolerant - supposed to be very fragrant.

here is the plant file:

http://davesgarden.com/pf/go/52504/

I actually edged my patio in lavender for the fragrance and the look.

Thumbnail by rsquared
(Zone 4a)