Money Plant from Brent

Chevy Chase, MD(Zone 7a)

Brent: You gave me a money plant (plus a million other plants, for which thanks!) at the swap.

I thought I was familiar with money plant. But the leaves on your plant are getting huge. Is it a particular cultivar of Lunaria annua?

Also, have you grown this before? My recollection is that money plant had stunning flowers, but was a voracious self-seeder. Is that true of this plant? If so, I'll be careful to deadhead.

Many thanks!

Sterling, VA(Zone 6b)

I am a newbie when it comes to Lunaria annua myself. The seeds were given to me in a swap. The pictures seem to match up with some pictures that I have found on the web, so I am pretty sure they are actually Lunaria annua. I just planted out some myself last week and I picked a rather shady spot.

Here is a thread on the Perennials form where I asked some questions: http://davesgarden.com/forums/t/721123/

- Brent

Chevy Chase, MD(Zone 7a)

Thanks! One of the posters said it did well in the shade, so I'll try that!

Baltimore, MD(Zone 7a)

Happy,

"Money Plant is a biennial. This time of year, the ones we got from Brent, they are just gonna grow and grow--NO flowers until next Spring. Plant them outside in any bed and let them "do their thing: during Winter.
Next Spring they will bloom with tall stalks of beautiful, blue flowers and make those translucent, oval "moneys". The seeds are in those oval things--on either side of the membrane. You have to rub the membranes off and collect the seeds. What is left is the iridescent membranes that are so beautiful in dried flower arrangements.

Ask Sallyg--she has a "forest" of them.....

Gita

Chevy Chase, MD(Zone 7a)

I remember them -- I grew them once before and were they ever seedy! But I don't remember the leaves being so large. Probably just poor memory.

Anne Arundel,, MD(Zone 7b)