So....what do you think?

Auburn, MA(Zone 5b)

For all of you who tried winter sowing for the first time.....what do you think? How was your success rate? Will you do it again? I'd like to see if all of the "enabling" worked. :)

I've been doing this for four years and (for me) it's the only way I'll garden from now on. Not that I don't buy a few plants here and there, but I find that I really can't find anything that I don't have growing in my containers.

Springfield, MA(Zone 6a)

Are you kidding???? lol Except for some replacement perennials and the roses, most of the plants in my garden were sown by me - about half were winter sown. I could never afford all these plants if I had to buy them!

Lots of batchlor buttons, delphiniums, pansies, violas, baby's breath, carnations, pinks, linaria, snapdragons, larkspur, red poppies, oriental poppies - I can hardly wait to get started again!

Pretoria, South Africa

It is winter here in SA at the moment, and although our temperatures aren't as low as some you experience during winter, I must admit there is no going back to buying plants! First of all I never would be able to buy the number of seedlings I am raising right now, and then the variety is something every gardener in SA will be jealous about as we are only able to buy a limited variety of plants. Some of the things I am growing at the moment is plants that one only sees in overseas magazines. I can't wait to show them off!

Winter sowing is addictive!

Elsa

Springfield, MA(Zone 6a)

So what are you growing Elsa?

Cincinnati (Anderson, OH(Zone 6a)

Well, I can't wait to see photos of your gardens!

I have done WSing for 3 years, now. Took a while for me to get the hang of it (really slow learner and seed sowing klutz) but I love it.

Last winter I did very little (too preoccupied with other things) and now I regret not having set out more seeds.

North West, OH(Zone 5b)