Blackberries bitter?

Pelzer, SC(Zone 7b)

My house came complete with wild blackberries. I'm sure that nothing has ever been done for them, so I'm looking for some advice. The berries are just ripening, but there's a problem. At first taste, they are very good, but the aftertaste is quite bitter. Maybe it's the variety? Or maybe the very dry weather this year? I'm looking for suggestions as to how to get better results next year. Thanks,
Margo

Castelnau RB Pyrenée, France(Zone 8a)

I think the dry weather may be the problem catmad. I've noticed that happen to wild blackberries in the UK when its been a dry season.

Also the blackberries here in France have to put up with very hot and dry weather. When eaten raw they taste uninteresting and leave that aftertaste, but they make brilliant jam. Don't know why. The cooking in sugar must bring out the best in them.....

I don't know if this will be the answer with yours

Pelzer, SC(Zone 7b)

Thanks philomel :)
I'm just learning to "preserve" stuff, so if I can get enough berries together, I'll give blackberry jelly a shot. This way, if it doesn't work, nothing will really be lost, as they're not any good this way. And if I mess up, I won't feel so badly....
Margo

Bluffton, SC(Zone 9a)

The wild blackberries around me are not good to eat off the bush. Same thing bitter after taste. Doesn't matter what the weather has been.

Do they make good jam CoreHHI?

Bluffton, SC(Zone 9a)

I've never tried, tell you the truth they're a weed around here. That might be worth a try to make jam because nothing kills them and very easy to grow. They pop up every year in moist partial shade areas.

Tuscaloosa, AL(Zone 7b)

cadmad: