June blooms in the rock garden

Wheatfield, NY(Zone 6a)

well, this is a first...me starting a thread with something in bloom :0)

here's a little Dianthus 'Rachel' (my granddaughter's name)

Thumbnail by grampapa
somewhere, PA

Way to go Jan! I love dianthus and that's certainly a nice one!
Tam

Rosemont, ON(Zone 4a)

I'm not absolutely sure this is Dianthus monspessulanus var Sternbergii, but that's what it said on the label. I bought the plant from a rock garden society plant sale, and I think it was grown from seed sent from an Eastern European collector.

Thumbnail by June_Ontario
Rosemont, ON(Zone 4a)

This one is labelled Dianthus neglectus, which I believe is the same as Dianthus pavonius, and it matches the description in the reference books. The backs of the petals are a pale, yellowy beige.

somewhere, PA

That's a cute one! I'm not familiar with the species so can't comment on the accuracy.
(I'm not good with all the diathus species. Mostly appreciate them all, especially the
cute little ones!)

Here's one in my rock garden. I have to search for the label to ID it (and haven't) so
here's an unidentified (for now) diathus.

Tam

Edited to add - we cross posted so my comment is for your first post June.

This message was edited Jun 10, 2007 8:40 AM

Thumbnail by Tammy
somewhere, PA

How's this for a raging display of pink! Dianthus/carnations, penstemon hirsutus
and sopanaria / soapwort.

Thumbnail by Tammy
Rosemont, ON(Zone 4a)

Here's white Anthemis aizoon blooming along with greeny-yellow Alyssum pulvinare and sky-blue Linum perenne. The Alyssum is short-lived, but seeds itself around moderately.

Rosemont, ON(Zone 4a)

Hi Tammy, we were both posting at the same time. I love your "raging" pinks!

somewhere, PA

And here's a plain old green saxifraga (I don't recall species again) blooming
in front of the Lynchnis Flos-jovis 'nana' from Todd's seed.

Thumbnail by Tammy
somewhere, PA

June - that linum is glorious! I'm a sucker for pretty blues too.