pygmy date palm?

Spring, TX(Zone 9a)

Hi all,
I don't know much about palm trees...But when searching DG, I think I ID'ed this as a Pygmy Date Palm...This is growing outside of my home office window...I have 2 questions...

1- Is this in fact a Pygmy Date?
2 - What to do with these seeds that are forming? Should I pull them off and do anything with them? If I let them fall by themselves, will they try to grow new ones in my flowerbed?

Sorry about the silly questions...I'm new to this and I figured this forum would know best...

Thanks!
-abl

Thumbnail by abl_newbie
Acton, CA(Zone 8b)

yes

Spring, TX(Zone 9a)

Yes to what part?

Garden Grove, CA(Zone 10a)

Yes, it is a pygmy date palm. Just leave the seeds alone. They shouldn't germinate and become more palms.

Acton, CA(Zone 8b)

Those are flowers... they may eventually become fruit. But unless fertilized by another palm tree will never turn into seeds. If they do, will probably end up as some hybrid... however, unless you have a lot of other Phoenix palms in the vicinity, fertile seed will be an unlikely occurence.

Spring, TX(Zone 9a)

Great, thanks guys!
I will keep watching to see what the seeds become...

-abl

Palm Bay, FL(Zone 9b)

I dont like to disagree, but the picture is of the seeds. The seeds and the flowers on the pygmy date palm come on seperate single palms. So if you have a clump of three palms, two may have flowers and the other may have seeds. The flowers pollen will pollinate the seeds and they will eventually fall and become new palms. This is a picture of the flowers.

Thumbnail by FoxtailFavPalm
Spring, TX(Zone 9a)

wow, very interesting! I'm learning a lot thank you!

so what do the flowers look like then? and if I don't have any flowers pop up, and only these seeds, I don't have to worry about them reproducing then?

Acton, CA(Zone 8b)