Hardening off on weekends?

Long Island, NY(Zone 7a)

I've read about hardening off on this forum and realize I have far from the ideal situation to follow instructions properly. I essentially only have weekends to begin hardening my plants off (tomatoes, eggplant, peppers, annuals, and perennials), and they are on their own during the week. They are currently under lights where they have been growing for at least 6-8 weeks, so most of them are a good size. Only some of the perennials are still small.

Would it make sense to put them in the ground - still in their pots - in a protected, shady location for a work week before exposing them to full sun the following weekend?

Naperville, IL(Zone 5a)

I'm no expert, but I think you can start them off for a week in a protected location as long as your temperature at night isn't too cold. The next week, set them out in more sun or in their planting spot and go from there. Just make sure you keep them watered. I started hardening off a couple potted clematis vines I purchased a couple weeks ago and have had inside under lights since. I only had to water them once every several days inside but after only one full day outside I had to water them again. Big difference.

I've also seen Paul James on Gardening by the Yard, set plants in "nursery beds" to acclimate them outside. He sunk them in raised beds in a protected spot in the yard, pot and all, and covered with mulch. That kept the soil a consistent temperature and helped retain moisture.

North West, OH(Zone 5b)

Here's how I do it Peckhaus. Right now most of my seedlings live right inside the garage with the doors up. That way they are getting natural sunlight without being exposed to it directly. For a few minutes each day I scoot them into the sunlight (in the morning if possible or late afternoon when the sun's rays aren't as intense) and gradually increase those times until I'm comfortable they can tolerate full sun.