How many electrical outlets needed in a greenhouse.

West Bridgewater, MA

Hello,

I need advice again from your gardening and greenhouse experience
and wisdom.

My 8 x 14' greenhouse is at that point where I will be installing electricity.
So far I only have the conduit inside the greeenhouse.
I have been thinking of 2 outlets on each of the long walls and wiring to an
exhaust fan and intakes @ some time but what else should I allow for.

I am new to this and don't know about all the things I could possibly need, can you help me out??

Thanks,
keywest

Springfield, MO(Zone 6a)

It's easy to do it now and very difficult to add on later.
Things you may need electricity for...
Furnace and backup heaters
Air movement fan (always on)
Heating cable for propagation/seed starting
Lighting
Entertainment (radio, cd player, ...)

If you have a seperate circuit for the greenhouse (a good idea) use a gcfi (ground fault interruptor) circuit breaker. The only down side to this would be if you plan to use a backup generator wired into the circuit breaker panel (it generally won't work that way but you can still use gcfi outlets).
Dave.

Fulton, MO

Dave, don't forget the beer fridge.

I think you will want a few more outlets, Keywest.

I can tell you what I did, and I'm happy with it. 20' end walls each have 3 outlets, but one of those is for the exhaust fan. 23' side walls have 5 each, three low (2') and two high (shoulder level). Plus one on the ceiling. At one point or another I've used every one of these outlets.

West Bridgewater, MA

Thanks guys.

You've given me food for thought.
I know at some point I will wish I had the foresight to have
added an outlet here or there.

Keywest

Conway, AR(Zone 7b)